I have a little more than 500 miles to go. I’m at an incredible hostel in Manchester Center, VT, trying to keep my eyes open. 

A week ago, I had one of the best days I’ve experienced on the trail so far. Coming into Massachusetts, I had perfect weather, a good breeze to keep me cool and bug-free, and varied terrain to keep me from getting bored and exhausted by the 20-ish miles into Great Barrington. Before I made it into town, I ran into the AT Hiker Friendly (who gave me trail magic back near Erwin, TN) and had soda and junk food. I then got a hitch into town from an awesome couple–John and Deb–who were on their way to a job for their excavation business. They chatted me up, gave me a tour of the town, and paid for my dinner at the brewery! The place was crawling with hikers Ive been seeing on trail.  They offered to take me along on their bar crawl but after two salads and two entrees, I went to the free tenting area behind the community center and fell into a food coma.
I zeroed in town the next day, then hit the trail again,  ranks to a hitch from a trail momma named Judy.  MA is my favorite state so far, but this may be due to the varied terrain in conjunction with the return to challenging ups-and-downs,  less bugs, and more water. 

I crossed the VT border a few days ago and will get off trail next week to visit some friends for a day or so.  3 states remain!

And a mouse chewed up my food bag! DUCT TAPE!

Soda and cookies from the “Cookie Lady” (but he was a man)

Getting pretty spoiled by all these tent platforms

About DA

1 in billions

Leave a comment